A blogger from SB Nation, one of the largest and fastest-growing networks of fan-centric sport communities, posted a interesting ranking report about 2010 NASCAR crowd noise.

How do measure crowd noise, you ask?

Some of you might be familiar with the process but basically each week SB Nation measured the crowd noise during pre-race driver introductions with a handheld decibel meter. SB Nation compiled the results from 29 NASCAR races during the 2010 season.

Then according to SB Nation they, “gave drivers points based on their finishing order in the weekly top 10. If a driver got the most noise in a given week, he was awarded 10 points; if he finished 10th, he received one point, and so on.”

CARCHEX Fans and Junior Nation will not be surprised by the winner for crowd noise – Dale Earnhardt, Jr. consistently ranked at the top of the list each week.

See the full results below and tell CARCHEX what you think:

Driver Score Typical Noise
1 Dale Earnhardt Jr. 249 Cheers
2 Jimmie Johnson 224 Boos
3 Kyle Busch 220 Boos
4 Tony Stewart 182 Cheers
5 Jeff Gordon 181 Mixed
6 Mark Martin 166 Cheers
7 Carl Edwards 63.5 Mixed
8 Kasey Kahne 62 Cheers
9 Juan Pablo Montoya 40.5 Boos
10 Kurt Busch 32.5 Boos
11 Kevin Harvick 32 Cheers
12 Denny Hamlin 29.5 Mixed